Managing Organizations

Creating Organizations

Organizations allow you to group your projects and Security & Compliance identities. Every project belongs to an organization, and each organization is separate. An organization has one or more members. You can create, or be invited to, more than one organization. For example, you could create an organization for your personal work or side project, and also be invited to join your company’s organization.

To create an organization:

  1. Click menu at the top right of the page that displays your username, and select Your Dashboard.
  2. Click the Create an Organizations link. Enter the Organization Name to display in the ActiveState Platform.
  3. Accept the suggested URL, or specify a shorter, easier to remember URL.
  4. Click Create Organization.

    When you create an organization, you are automatically assigned ownership of the Organization, which allows you to invite and manage users for the Organization.

  5. The next step after creating a new Organization is to invite users. For more information, see Sending invites.

Sending Invites

You can invite other users to join your organization. Each user you invite will receive an email with a unique link that allows them to accept your invitation and access the data associated with your organization. If they are not already users of the ActiveState Platform they will need to create an account.

Invited users are listed in the Pending Invites list until they accept the invite to the organization. You can resend the email, if necessary, by clicking the Resend link.

Note: You must be an owner of an organization to invite users.

  1. Click menu at the top right of the page that displays your username, and select Your Dashboard.
  2. Click the name of the organization you want to invite users to in the Your Organizations list.
  3. Click the Members tab.
  4. In the Add a New Member panel enter the email address of the user to invite.
  5. Users are added as members by default. If you want the user to administer the organization select Owner. Owners can invite users, remove users, and switch users between owner and member for the organization.
  6. Click Send Invite.

Removing Users

If you are an Owner of an organization, you can remove users that belong to that organization. Once removed, the user’s access to all data associated with the organization will be immediately revoked.

Note: If you want to remove yourself from the Organization, ensure that the Organization has at least one owner and navigate to the Organizations Preferences page to leave the Organization.

  1. Click menu at the top right of the page that displays your username, and select Your Dashboard.
  2. Click the name of the organization you want to remove users from in the Your Organizations list.
  3. Click the Members tab.
  4. Click Remove next to the user’s name to remove them from the organization.

Updating Billing Details

  1. Click menu at the top right of the page that displays your username, and select Your Dashboard.
  2. Click the name of the organization you want to update billing details for.
  3. Click the Settings tab.
  4. Click Modify.
  5. You can add or update billing information including the cardholder name, billing address, contact email, and credit card details. To update or change your credit card information, click Update Card and reenter your credit card number, expiry date, and the CVC number on the back of your card.
  6. Click Save to save any changes to your billing information.

Leaving Organizations

You can leave any organization you are a member of. If you are the owner of an Organization, you can leave the organization if you are not the user that created the organization.

  1. Click menu at the top right of the page that displays your username, and select Preferences.
  2. Click the Organizations link.
  3. Click Leave next to the organization you want to leave.
  4. Click Yes to confirm your selection.

Deleting Organizations

You can delete an organization if you are an Owner of the organization.

  1. Click menu at the top right of the page that displays your username, and select Your Dashboard.
  2. Click the name of the organization you want to delete in the Your Organizations list.
  3. Click Settings.
  4. Click Delete this Organization.
  5. Click Yes to permanently delete the organization.